by | Content Writing, Editorial


The Cape Town 10s has established itself as South Africa’s premier annual sport, lifestyle and live entertainment event. Brought to life in 2008 by former Springboks Bob Skinstad and Robbie Fleck, this multi-sport extravaganza is all in the name of fun.

It’s a weekend festival for all-rounders who enjoy a variety of sports, including netball, hockey, soccer, golf, running and – of course – rugby. The festival also hosts Africa’s largest beer tent and some of SA’s biggest local bands, making it one of the best parties in the country.

This year, Jack Parow will be heading onto the field once again as part of a celebrity invitational team, just in case you’ve ever wondered if he can catch a rugby ball. World Cup winning Captain Siya Kolisi’s home club in Port Elizabeth – the Abantwana Bomghuba – will also be back to defend their title.

It’s all happening between 31 January and 1 February 2020 at the Green Point Common Fields in Cape Town. Crowds of fans and squads from around the globe will be there to play and experience the vibe that makes the Cape Town 10s so unique.

The Cape Town 10s is the biggest ten-a-side rugby tournament in the world, with 80 social rugby teams from all over South Africa playing in seven divisions. And never to be outdone, the South African Rugby Legends Association (SARLA), has assisted in assembling a Legends squad, sponsored by Thirsti Water: The Thirsti VIP Invitational Team, who will be playing in the Vets category.

SARLA CEO, Stefan Terblanche, said “With the Springboks’ amazing World Cup win still fresh in our minds, this year’s Cape Town 10s promises to be bigger than ever. And we’re so proud to have a team competing in the tournament. This is a great opportunity for fans to catch a glimpse of their old favourite players in action, and maybe even to chat to them after the game.”

The legendary Thirsti VIP Invitational Team line up is managed by a who’s who of Springbok Rugby royalty, including Bob Skinstad, Schalk Burger and Schalk Brits, among others. The diverse team features some familiar names, too – like former

Italian Captain Quintin Geldenhuys, Hanyani Shimange, Marco Wentzel and Norman Jordaan.